Founded in 1734, the company (then Forest & Forneaux) was bought by Pierre Taittinger in 1930 and renamed Champagne Taittinger. Today its President, Pierre Emmanuel Taittinger, oversees in person the quality of the products bearing his name. The headquarters of Champagne Taittinger are based in the city of Reims on the site of the old Abbey of Saint-Nicaise, which was destroyed during the French Revolution.
However, the spectacular Gallo-Roman chalk pits underneath still serve as cellaring for the wonderful Comtes de Champagne cuvees. Their country mansion in Pierry was the headquarters of Général Joffre during the Battle of the Marne in WWI and still has a small and fascinating museum dedicated to the soldiers of that epic time.